Bound by Night, Larissa Ione

  • Publish Date Sept. 24, 2013
  • ISBN 9781476700175
  • Price 7.99

If you only read Larissa Ione’s first series, The Demonica/Lords of Deliverance Series, you’d think that somewhere woven into the sex plots there was a story, a very real and interesting story. My first read by Ione was Demonica Book 6/Lords of Deliverance Book 1, Eternal Rider– I was enthralled by the story so much I had an almost sleepless night or two and although the sex scenes were more explicit than I was used to in my typical reading list, I was spell bound by Ione’s world of the Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Imagery, vivid imagination, heart and soul fell in those pages.  I followed this up by the first book in the series and was still engaged in the story but felt like half of the book was way to erotic for my taste, yet loved the characters and story of misfit demons and misunderstood non-humans.

For those who are like me and don’t need an x-rate novel, this may be for you. Yes, there are sex scenes, but they’re part of the plot line, not THE plot line.  I wouldn’t miss out on Ione’s world of fabulous vampires created as no other vampire has been told (that I’ve read). Think of this as a mixture of Interview with the Vampire meets Last of the Mohicans with a little Demonica thrown in.

Bound by Night graduates Ione from erotica/romance/whatever to true storytelling. I was so caught up in the character building and story line I became emotionally involved in the relationships between the characters and forgot I was reading a book and felt like I was a fly on the wall watching the inner workings of a real ethnic group.  Spellbound is what I was and truthfully, I can’t wait to read the next book which is given away by a teaser in the last chapter.  If you’re into vampires or not, this is just a great book that you should give serious thought to reading.

Leave a Reply

